About RLASB2019-07-05T10:09:44+02:00

What is RLASB?

The Network of High Biosafety Level Laboratories (RLASB) is a Singular Scientific and Technological Infrastructure (ICTS) of High Biological Safety laboratories that offers the possibility of using integrated laboratory and animal services, exclusively dedicated to work with infectious agents that demand conditions of high biological security for its manipulation. Due to its size, size and capacity, both High Security Biological Installations are unique at a national and international level, given that there are very few laboratories of these characteristics and this capacity.

The RLASB is a distributed ICTS infrastructure formed by two nodes:

  • BCL-3 of the Animal Health Research Center INIA-CISA
  • BCL-3 of the Animal Health Research Center IRTA-CReSA
Videos of nodes INIA-CISA (Source: UNED) and IRTA-CReSA
Leaflet in Spanish (DIN A5 pdf): Digital / Imprimir

Poster: Download

Both nodes are part of the Biological Alert Laboratory Network (RE-LAB), coordinated by the Carlos III Health Institute (ISCIII). RE-LAB is a scientific-technical infrastructure for operational support to the National System for Conducting Crisis Situations for the response to threats by dangerous biological agents. It is integrated by specialized microbiology laboratories in the different fields considered at risk (human, animal, environmental, plant and food health).

ICTS of Spain

Singular Scientific and Technological Infrastructures are large facilities, resources, equipment and services unique in their kind and of public ownership. Its objective is to offer a quality service to the national and international scientific and technological community, dedicating at least 20% of its capacity in a competitive open access regime with the support of the technical and administrative staff of the ICTS.

A very high investment, maintenance and operation cost, whose importance and strategic nature justify its availability for the entire R+D collective. The ICTS are distributed throughout the national territory and are collected in what is called the Map of Singular Scientific and Technical Infrastructures (ICTS) of Spain, promoted by the Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities.

The first ICTS Map was agreed at the III Conference of Presidents, held on January 11, 2007, and was prepared with the participation of the Autonomous Communities. The “Spanish Science and Technology and Innovation Strategy 2013-2020”, approved by the Council of Ministers in February 2013, establishes that the ICTS Map is the long-term planning and development tool for these infrastructures in coordination with the CCAA. In accordance with this Strategy, the ICTS Map is updated every four years, with the Scientific, Technological and Innovation Policy Council (CPCTI) being the competent body for its approval. The first update was agreed at the CPCTI meeting on October 7, 2014 and has remained in effect until November 6, 2018, date on which the CPCTI has approved a new update for the period 2017-2020.